MDL-42711 import learnmoodle fixes: Fix the broken links in RSS feed block
authorDavid Mudrák <david@moodle.com>
Wed, 21 Aug 2013 13:13:08 +0000 (15:13 +0200)
committerAparup Banerjee <aparup@moodle.com>
Fri, 8 Nov 2013 07:35:54 +0000 (15:35 +0800)
commit1d93c9ae07da8ee08af42c698a705fd7076ccb4e
treec9f7885f57353f312b8830003b135052f34a2c69
parentb661e76c3f7132a30cadadf7c21eccf419a3adac
MDL-42711 import learnmoodle fixes: Fix the broken links in RSS feed block

If the <description> of the feed contains URLs longer than 30 characters, the
URL is split because of the break_up_long_words(). When combined with the
filter that converts URLs to links, this produces broken links.

The proper solution would be to improve break_up_long_words() so that it does
not modifies URLs at all. As a temporary solution for our purpose now is to
call format_text() prior to break_up_long_words() as it will not modify the
inner content of the <a> tag.

This should be fixed upstream. See also discussion at
https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=34947
blocks/rss_client/block_rss_client.php