MDL-41838 Backup/restore: Support .tar.gz format for .mbz (2 of 2)
authorsam marshall <s.marshall@open.ac.uk>
Tue, 24 Sep 2013 17:14:09 +0000 (18:14 +0100)
committersam marshall <s.marshall@open.ac.uk>
Tue, 8 Oct 2013 12:04:49 +0000 (13:04 +0100)
commit39e5102f8b8a4975fd1a8046264d736a89eedd34
tree1d601f6714488f9cf1097d179218d2220e250023
parentc858655ddeffc0460914f4c27a0cb61a97df689f
MDL-41838 Backup/restore: Support .tar.gz format for .mbz (2 of 2)

The new experimental setting enabletgzbackups allows backups to be
created so that the internal format for .mbz files is .tar.gz.

Restore transparently supports .mbz files with either internal
formats (.zip or .tar.gz).

The .tar.gz format has the following benefits for backup:
- Supports larger files (no limit on total size, 8GB on single file
  vs. 4GB limit on total size)
- Compresses text better, resulting in smaller .mbz files.
- Reports progress regularly during compression of single files,
  reducing the chance of timeouts during backups that include a
  very large file.

Time performance may also be improved although I haven't done a
direct comparison.
admin/settings/development.php
backup/moodle2/backup_stepslib.php
backup/util/helper/backup_general_helper.class.php
backup/util/ui/restore_ui_stage.class.php
lang/en/admin.php
lib/filestorage/mbz_packer.php [new file with mode: 0644]
lib/filestorage/tests/mbz_packer_test.php [new file with mode: 0644]
lib/moodlelib.php